Devastated
Silent Society Offline

Threads: 26
Devastated
Hi all. I have been struggling with deciding where to put this. Seems like this may be an ok place to write it.
My therapist is dying. He was diagnosed with lung cancer two years ago. He had treatment at that time, had part of his lung removed and was doing well. In remission. The cancer has come back on the only lung he has left.. The doctor has told him he had between six months and a year and a half to live. I am devestated.
I have been meeting with him for over 12 years now. I am aware of my system because of him. I am still alive because of him. How does one come to grips with something like this?
He started chemo this past week. The thought is that with the chemo, they will be able to shrink the cancer and he will have more time. The hope is that we will be able to meet again after the chemo is done until he is no longer able to do that anymore.
I have a new T that I started meeting with again this week. I met with her while my T was in treatment the first time. She understands DID and my T thinks that she can help us do the work that we need to do.
Still, I am a wreck. All of the ones in the system know our current T and want to work with him. I am holding on to the thought that we will be able to meet again when he is done with this course of treatment and that will be good, but the reality is that he is dying. He will be gone. Trying to hang on to the fact that he is still here now and that we can still text and call him at times, but what do we do when he is gone. Very sad. Feeling alone. Angry that this is happening. Just could use some support.
12-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Find Reply
MakersDozn Offline
MM Oldtimer

Threads: 186
Friendship/Support  RE: Devastated
We're so sorry, Silent Society.

Sending you supportive thoughts.

MDs
12-06-2014, 07:59 PM
Website Find Reply
The People Offline
Long Time Member Who grew Up Here

Threads: 1,021
RE: Devastated